Utilite & Trim-Slice Users Forum
http://compulab.co.il/utilite-computer/forum/

Utilite2 Bricked
http://compulab.co.il/utilite-computer/forum/viewtopic.php?f=80&t=2405
Page 1 of 1

Author:  tpanzarella [ Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Utilite2 Bricked

Are there instructions on-line for bringing a bricked utilite2 back on-line? I.e., from micro-SD? I saw that instructions exist for the utilite but that obviously does not help since that is the imx6 and not the snapdragon system. I also tried to follow the InForce Computing technote: "Recovery of Bricked Boards Using SD Card" since there appears to be some shared lineage between the IF6410Plus and the Utilite2, but again, that did not work -- could not boot the recovery SD in my Utilite2.

Any resources out there? Anything "official" from CompuLab?

Thanks.

Author:  tpanzarella [ Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

At this link: http://www.compulab.co.il/support/qs600 ... -download/

It states that the Bootloaders are "coming soon". How soon is "soon"? I need to restore this board now.

Thanks.

Author:  tpanzarella [ Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

I tried the InForce Computing tech note: "Application Note for Recovery of Bricked Boards Using SD Card" again, and this time it worked -- I had to restore the partition table. So, it looks like I have the bootloader (LK) running again. Going to try installing the latest Linaro Linux images now.

Author:  tpanzarella [ Thu Oct 22, 2015 3:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

Just to wrap up this issue...

By following the aforementioned tech note from InForce, I got the LK boot loader reinstalled. Once that was in place, I have successfully done both of:

1. Re-installed Ubuntu from CompuLab's live disk

2. Installed the latest images from Linaro.

So, to be clear, you can "unbrick" your Utilite2. It would have been nice to get some vendor support here ... would have saved me the better part of a day.

Issue closed.

Author:  Waschbüsch [ Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

tpanzarella wrote:
Just to wrap up this issue...

By following the aforementioned tech note from InForce, I got the LK boot loader reinstalled.


I tried to google this, but could not find this document you mentioned. Could you perhaps re-list the steps mentioned in that document? Or post a link to the document?

Thanks,

Martin

Author:  tpanzarella [ Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

You will need to register on the InForce Tech Web and once you have a password, you can get access to the document.

Here is the link to Tech Web:
http://www.inforcecomputing.com/techweb/index.php

Author:  Waschbüsch [ Fri Oct 30, 2015 6:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

tpanzarella wrote:
You will need to register on the InForce Tech Web and once you have a password, you can get access to the document.

Here is the link to Tech Web:
http://www.inforcecomputing.com/techweb/index.php


Thank you. It seems that registration requires a serial number of one of their products, which I do not have access to. Did you manage to register without such information?

Author:  tpanzarella [ Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

No. I have the 6410Plus and used that serial number to gain access.

Author:  Waschbüsch [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

tpanzarella wrote:
No. I have the 6410Plus and used that serial number to gain access.


In that case, can you list (either here or in a PM) the steps you took to restore the partition table and make the unit bootable from eMMC again?

It would be really really awesome!

Thanks,

Martin

Author:  biterror [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Utilite2 Bricked

Please post it in a public message because I'm afraid I'll need the same information soon.. ;-(

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/