View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:20 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Utilite Standard as a router 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:31 pm
Posts: 17
Post Utilite Standard as a router
My cable internet service is being upgraded to 300Mbit/s speed, and my current router wasn't going to be fast enough. So I put openwrt on the Utilite Standard and it was able to handle the faster speeds.

Most routers these days have multi-antenna/dualband wifi and a built in ethernet switch, so the Utilite is lacking in those areas. I'm using other devices to fill those needs.

I've written down the various tests I've done (including testing OpenVPN speeds): http://blog.dan.drown.org/arm-router-forwarding-rates/


Sat Jul 19, 2014 9:48 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Any chance you have a working build that I can install or maybe a How-To?

Thanks!


Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:34 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:31 pm
Posts: 17
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
mrdetweiler wrote:
Any chance you have a working build that I can install or maybe a How-To?

Thanks!


I don't have things in nicely organized, so this will take a bit of work to assemble. But if you're still interested:

1. Start with the base OpenWRT image for the imx6 chipset (file openwrt-imx6-generic-rootfs.tar.gz). http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/imx6/

2. Extract it to an ext4 filesystem. I used a USB flash drive for development.

3. setup your kernel (3.10.x, 3.16, 3.0.35). Make sure to put your modules in /lib/modules/[kernelversion] on the USB flash drive. Normally the modules are in subdirectories, but openwrt has them all in the same directory.

4. for usb flash, use the boot arguments below to go along with your custom kernel. You'll want to make a boot.scr out of it and put it on your /boot on the sdcard.

setenv bootargs "console=${console} root=/dev/sda1 panic=15 rootdelay=2 pci=nomsi"

5. you'll probably want a serial console on the first bootup in case you need to configure the network by hand

There's lots more that could be done to make this easier and work better out of the box.


Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:12 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Thanks very much for the reply. I'll give it a shot ASAP!


Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
I'm already struggling to find a packaged kernel. Perhaps I'm looking in the wrong places?

Thanks.


Last edited by mrdetweiler on Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:36 am
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Ok.. I think I found a kernel image.

Kernel: http://utilite-computer.com/download/utilite/unofficial_unsupported/AP/linux-image-imx6_3.10.17-01272-g8d93ff4_all.tar.gz


Last edited by mrdetweiler on Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:04 am
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
I'm getting there... I might have a working image this week. If I get time to play with it.


Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:42 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Ok.... so I have an image running and it looks ok, but it does not see eth1.

Any hints on what to do?

Thanks!


Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:10 am
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Some info:

root@OpenWrt:~# uname -a
Linux OpenWrt 3.0.35-cm-fx6-6.1 #140 SMP Tue Jun 17 10:40:25 IDT 2014 armv7l GNU/Linux
root@OpenWrt:~# ifconfig -a
can0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
NOARP MTU:16 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:10
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:142

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:C0:14:44:5E
inet addr:10.10.55.246 Bcast:10.10.55.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2433 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2166 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:303230 (296.1 KiB) TX bytes:492426 (480.8 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:4912 (4.7 KiB) TX bytes:4912 (4.7 KiB)

root@OpenWrt:~# dmesg|grep eth
i2c-core: driver [isl29023] using legacy suspend method
i2c-core: driver [isl29023] using legacy resume method
eth0: Freescale FEC PHY driver [Generic PHY] (mii_bus:phy_addr=1:00, irq=-1)


Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:12 am
Profile

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 20
Post Re: Utilite Standard as a router
Figure it out!

modprobe igb


Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:34 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.